The Minnesota Environmental Science and Economic Review Board (MESERB) is a joint powers organization formed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 471.59. A group of cities that were members of the Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities envisioned forming a group that would not lobby, but would rather focus on the scientific and economic foundations of regulations affecting wastewater treatment.

As of its very first Joint Powers Board meeting on October 15, 1997, MESERB’s original members were:

  • City of Austin
  • City of Crookston
  • City of Detroit Lakes
  • City of Fairmont
  • City of Faribault
  • City of Fergus Falls
  • City of Little Falls
  • City of Mankato
  • City of Moorhead
  • City of Rochester
  • City of St. Cloud
  • City of Winona

As stated in its Joint Powers Agreement, MESERB’s mission was and still is the following:

The purpose of this Agreement is to establish a board that will review and analyze the scientific and economic foundations of state and federal environmental standards, develop methods and programs to improve environmental protection, and communicate information and findings to governmental bodies and agencies, the public, and other interested parties. The initial focus of the board established by this agreement will be the review and evaluation of water quality standards and their applications.

In the years that have followed, MESERB has welcomed new members and said goodbye to others, but has remained steadfast in its dedication to serving as the voice of the regulated community on wastewater treatment legal and regulatory issues. Our members are your local governments, your communities, and your neighbors. Clean water is critical to Greater Minnesota’s economic health and quality of life. When water goes down the drain, it enters a complex system that is, in many ways, a living organism. Every wastewater treatment process is sized and designed to serve the needs of its local community, and is funded in full or in part by its local taxpayers. MESERB members feel the responsibility to make sure taxpayer money is used wisely by ensuring that wastewater treatment regulations are sound, scientifically based, and are reasonably related to preserving the health of Minnesota’s waters.

Today, MESERB has 37 Joint Powers Board members who together represent over 540,000 Minnesotans and over 140 million gallons of wastewater treatment capacity. Put another way, this is 140 million gallons of raw sewage that would pollute our state’s rivers and lakes if not for the dedicated efforts of MESERB’s members. For a glimpse of MESERB’s activities, please visit our Accomplishments page.

MESERB Presidents:  1997 to the Present

  • 1997 - 2000: George Rosati, Public Works Director, City of Mankato
  • 2000 - 2003: Ken Robinson, Public Utilities Director, City of St. Cloud
  • 2003 - 2006: Bruce Nelson, Executive Director, Alexandria Lake Area Sanitary District
  • 2006 - 2015: David Lane, Environmental Coordinator, Rochester Water Reclamation Plant
  • 2015 - Present: Andy Bradshaw, Operations Manager, City of Moorhead Wastewater Services Division